Foxtel Y-League 2018/19 Season Draw released

Football Federation Australia (FFA) today released the draw for the Foxtel Y-League 2018/19 Season.

Once again, the Foxtel Y-League will see ten clubs divided into two conferences; Conference A (Adelaide United, Brisbane Roar FC, Melbourne City FC, Melbourne Victory and Perth Glory) and Conference B (Central Coast Mariners, Canberra United, Newcastle Jets, Sydney FC and Western Sydney Wanderers FC). Within each conference, the teams will play each other twice over 10 rounds (4 home / 4 away – 8 matches and 2 byes per team). 

The Foxtel National Y-League 2018/19 Season will commence on the weekend of 10/11 November 2018, with the top team from each conference to meet in the Foxtel Y-League 2019 Grand Final on the weekend of the 2/3 February 2019.

FFA’s Head of Leagues, Greg O’Rourke, believes that the Foxtel Y-League plays an important role in the Australian Football ecosystem.

“Having a strong Foxtel Y-League helps complement the football development of Australia’s best youth footballers who also play in their respective local National Premier Leagues competitions during the winter months .

“This competition not only allows the best youth footballers to test themselves against their age-group peers from around the country, it also allows them to learn from, and play with, Hyundai A-League players who are either returning from injury or who need match minutes,”

“The Foxtel Y-League is the perfect stepping stone for our most talented players who aspire to play in the Hyundai A-League and become heroes in their own right,” concluded O’Rourke.

Key features of the Foxtel Y-League 2018/19 Season Draw include:

  • Five (5) Double-Header matches with Westfield W-League fixtures across the season
    • Round 3 (Western Sydney Wanderers FC v Central Coast Mariners) with Westfield W-League Round 4 (Western Sydney Wanderers FC v Newcastle Jets) @ Marconi Stadium, Fairfield  
    • Round 4 (Melbourne City FC v Melbourne Victory) with Westfield W-League Round 4 (Melbourne City FC v Adelaide United) @ CB Smith Reserve, Moreland
    • Round 9 (Adelaide United v Brisbane Roar FC) with Westfield W-League Round 12 (Adelaide United v Western Sydney Wanderers FC) @ Marden Sports Complex, Marden
    • Round 9 (Melbourne City FC v Perth Glory) with Westfield W-League Round 12 (Melbourne City FC v Newcastle Jets) @ CB Smith Reserve, Moreland
    • Round 10 (Adelaide United v Melbourne City FC) with Westfield W-League Round 13 (Adelaide United v Newcastle Jets) @ Marden Sports Complex, Marden
  • One (1) Double-Header match with a Hyundai A-League fixture
    • Round 5 (Melbourne Victory v Adelaide United) prior to Hyundai A-League Round 7 (Melbourne Victory v Adelaide United) at Marvel Stadium, Docklands
  • Three (3) Rounds in January to allow for Foxtel Y-League players to be used for Hyundai A-League matches during the Summer of Football