Wanderers lose first match since Round 1

The NRMA Insurance Western Sydney Wanderers were made to pay for missed chances and controversial decisions as they lost their first match in five weeks.

Undefeated since Round 1 this season, the 3-0 loss to Melbourne Victory at Etihad Stadium was not a kind score for the Red & Black who had the best of proceedings for most of the match.
The Wanderers started the match on the front foot with Jumpei, Dimas and Aritz Borda having the first three chances of the match.
Borda’s chance in particular was gilt-edged as his free header from a corner was unable to find the target when the centre back’s effort flew over the bar.
Victory’s first chance of the match saw them take the lead as Redmayne made a wonderful save from Fahid Ben Khalfallah’s shot but when Besart Berisha collected the rebound he was able to tee-up Oliver Bozanic for a tap-in.
It was a cruel and undeserved goal to concede for the Red & Black after such a bright start but the Wanderers continued to attack with Jumpei setting-up Mitch Nichols but the midfielder’s shot was deflected wide.
The second half was a more even affair with the Victory beginning to create chances too but the match soon turned controversial as the referee waved away what the commentators described as a certain penalty.
Jumpei had the ball in the box and looked to be cut down by Victory’s Jason Geria only for the referee to award a goal kick.
The game was then made even more difficult after Jai Ingham made it 2-0 for Melbourne Victory, controversy surrounding whether the ball came off Ingham’s head or his hand.
Kerem Bulut, Jumpei and Bruno Piñatares all then had chances but were unable to capitalise before Victory scored again to take an incredible 3-0 lead.
Wanderers return home next week when they take on Tim Cahill’s Melbourne City at Spotless Stadium. Kick-off is at 7:50pm on Friday night.
Melbourne Victory 3
Western Sydney Wanderers 0
Western Sydney Wanderers: Andrew Redmayne (GK), Brendan Hamill, Jonathan Aspropotamitis, Aritz Borda, Jack Clisby, Bruno Piñatares, Dimas (Kearyn Baccus), Mitch Nichols (Jaushua Sotirio), Nicolás Martínez, Jumpei, Brendon Santalab (Kerem Bulut)
Unused subs: Jerrad Tyson (GK), Shannon Cole