Wanderers headline historic double header to open season

Western Sydney Wanderers FC will open the season on Sunday 27 December with a historic A-League and Westfield W-League double header. 

Become a family zone member and catch all our home games for only $10 a match.

The match will mark the first time that the season has opened with a double header with the two competitions joining forces at the home of the Wanderers, Bankwest Stadium.

The Wanderers Westfield W-League team will open the season with a blockbuster match against Melbourne Victory.

The opening match will be an opportunity for Wanderers members and fans to catch new recruits Margaux Chauvet and Libby Copus-Brown alongside returning talents including Georgia Yeoman-Dale, Leena Khamis, and Wanderers Player of the Year Courtney Nevin.

The Red & Black’s A-League side will take to the field at 6:30pm to line up against newcomers Macarthur Bulls. 

Carl Robinson is set to coach in his first competitive fixture for the club with the clash against the Bulls in another historic moment for football. 

Internationals including Nicolai Muller, Graham Dorrans and Simon Cox are set to star in the opening round as well as young Australian talents Keanu Baccus, Tate Russell and Tass Mourdoukoutas. 

Western Sydney Wanderers CEO John Tsatsimas said he was proud that the club was hosting such a historic fixture.

“We are very excited to host the very first double header to open the Westfield W-League and A-League 2020/21 seasons,” said Tsatsimas., 

“Personally I am looking forward to our members, partners and fans returning to Wanderland in what has been a challenging year.

“We are one club here at the Wanderers and the double header is a fantastic opportunity for us to showcase what the teams have been working on during the pre-season and we can’t wait to get back in action.”

Broadcast Information:

  • FOX SPORTS will broadcast live every match of the A-League season and the A-League 2021 Finals Series and two matches per round of the Westfield W-League season as well as all Westfield W-League 2021 Finals Series Matches.
  • ABC TV will broadcast live one match per round of the A-League and Westfield W-League 2020/21 Season and will broadcast all matches of the Westfield W-League 2021 Finals Series live and provide a delayed broadcast of one A-League 2021 Elimination Final, one A-League 2021 Semi Final and the A-League 2020 Grand Final. 
  • All A-League & Westfield W-League 2020/21 matches and A-League & Westfield W-League 2021 Finals Series matches will be streamed live on Kayo Sports (www.kayosports.com.au) and also be available on the MyFootball Live App, Live Fast and Data Free for Telstra mobile customers.