Wanderers sign Carrusca

The NRMA Insurance Western Sydney Wanderers are pleased to announce that Marcelo Carrusca has today signed for the remainder of the Hyundai A-League 2017/18 season.

Carrusca, 34, has over 100 appearances in the Hyundai A-League to his name scoring 25 goals and will link up with former mentor, Wanderers head coach Josep Gombau.

Beginning his career with Estudiantes in Argentina's Primeria Division, Carrusca was part of Galatasaray’s squad that won the Turkish Superliga title in 2008.

Highly regarded since joining the Hyundai A-League in the 2012/13 season, Carrusca was voted into the Professional Footballers Australia Team of the Season on three consecutive occasions between 2012-2015, was twice selected in the Hyundai A-League All-stars taking on Manchester United (2013) and Juventus (2014) and has won all three major Australian domestic honours – the Westfield FFA Cup, Hyundai A-League Premiership and Championship.

The Argentine-born Carrusca, who became an Australian citizen in July 2017, will wear the number six and will join his new teammates tomorrow, replacing Abraham Majok in the Wanderers 18-man squad for their match in Wellington against the Phoenix.

NRMA Insurance Western Sydney Wanderers Hyundai A-League 2017/18 squad:

Goalkeepers: Vedran Janjetovic, Jerrad Tyson
Defenders: Jonathan Aspropotamitis, Keanu Baccus, Jack Clisby, Robert Cornthwaite, Brendan Hamill, Raúl Llorente, Josh Risdon, Michael Thwaite 
Midfielders: Kearyn Baccus, Roly Bonevacia, Marcelo Carrusca, Chris Herd, Steven Lustica, Marc Tokich 
Forwards: Mark Bridge, Álvaro Cejudo, Oriol Riera, Brendon Santalab, Lachlan Scott, Jaushua Sotirio 

Scholarship Players: Abraham Majok (Forward), Kosta Grozos (Midfielder), John Roberts (Forward), Nicholas Suman (Goalkeeper)